If you came in to see us Saturday afternoon, I  must apologize for not being there. I received a phone call from my husband informing me that our home was on fire. We live in a 6 unit condo complex which caught fire early Saturday afternoon. Though we are *very* lucky in that we have only minor smoke damage, some of our neighbors were not as  lucky. Extensive fire damage has made 4 of the units uninhabitable for an extended period of time. All humans made it out safely, though we are sad to report that Marzipan, a lovely kitty cat, did not escape the smoke.

I am utterly amazed at the community outreach we have experienced thus far. The Red Cross was there with anything we could or will need, within 15 minutes of the firemen. The firemen themselves did a stellar job not only putting out the fire, but walking us through the next steps (they even brought our ferret Betty White out of the burning building! She will be bunking at Bella for a few days until we can move back in). I was also live tweeting the event and had over 50 offers of aid. From places to stay, to food, helping to clean, to critter care, I am just dumbfounded. This is such an amazing community to live in. I cannot thank you enough for all of your help.

We’re not out of the woods yet – we are just starting the process of investigating our options. Though my husband and I are so very, very lucky in that we only need a little smoke cleaning, our neighbors may need more. Stay tuned for information on how you can help. In the meantime, we thank you for your thoughts and good juju. We are truly blessed to be par of such a caring and amazing community.

